Track tyre pressures on the AO48's

What is the received wisdom on this subject? In the past I reckon I ve ended up with over inflated tyres once they’ve heated up …so do you readjust once hot in the pits and to what pressures?

Adrian

I’m no expert on this, but I think you are right about them getting over inflated on a hot track - the wear seems more in the middle of the tyres. I took mine down to about 27psi at Croft on Sunday which seemed to do the trick, but Jamie who was also there in his S2 had them quite a bit lower still. Not sure what the optimum pressure would be though - I guess it would vary depending on the weather and track surface.

Mark

I run my A048’s at 18 psi on the front and 20psi on the rear. They wear perfectly at this.

Sean…

Depending on the day, it changes, but look for 23 psi hot all around.
This has worked out for me about 19F-17R , but changes depending on teh driver.

Start by 20 all around and measure after the sessions, letting air go until you get to 24 hot all around. That’s a safe bet.

I run my A048’s at 18 psi on the front and 20psi on the rear. They wear perfectly at this.

Sean…

I assume that’s hot Sean?

Ian

I was running 23/25 hot at Croft seemed to do the job

Thanks for the replies lads - just got in from work late.

Another thing, the crazing you get on the surfaace of the tyre after a hard track day really affects grip badly on th eroad afterwards I find until it wears throught to virgin rubber again - I guess it is rubber thats been virtually melted then has hardened but changed in properties giving less grip?

The ‘crazing’ you are talking about is just pickup. Ie loose rubber that is lying on the track which attatches itself to your hot tyres.

On tyre pressures… there are an aweful lot of variables here but the trick is to lern hoe to read the tyres. As a start poin try running the manufacturers recommended pressure when the tyre is hot.