steering wobble 75-90mph

Firstly I would like to say a big "HELLO� to everyone as I am a newbie!

Aaarrrrr I hear you say but please no instead channel you thoughts into this…Mainly a track car my pride and joy has developed a steering wheel wobble between 75-90mph. I noticed it on route to Donnington a few weeks ago. After flying off on the Craner Curves that day at 90mph (I didn’t lift, honest) and ending up in the gravel I thought it wise to have the wheels realigned and balanced. I also added 1 degree of negative camber to the front. Unfortunately on my last outing the wobble is still there although the front end grip is noticeably better. My first mechanical mod on the standard car worked, very chuffed indeed!

I must also confess to not only being new here but only buying my Exige in July and actually only taking up track days this year…Yes I�m that new and with a limited mechanical knowledge to boot but I�m one of you now and I�m willing to learn. I totally love my car, it�s the nuts so if anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated. Good to be here�����������

Presume you are running Yoko A048’s as ‘wobble’ is typical for these tyres assuming balancing ok although a wobble throughout a 15 mph range seems a little unusual. Most peeps seem to get it at 85 / 90 mph. Dealers seem to be turning a blind eye to it however guy on Elise Talk had his tyres dealer changed after doing 1000 miles.
kimbo

Very likely the 48s as Kimbo says. Not a lot you can do about it, I’m afraid.

Changing to Toyo 888s cured it for me.

Hopefully, the “new” batch from Yoko will not suffer the same.

Most peeps seem to get it at 85 / 90 mph.

Another one here Both on the Exige and with the VXR I had before, although it seems to vary a bit depending on the road surface. Sometimes (albeit rarely) I don’t get it at all. Why the 048s do it when I’ve never experienced it with any other (properly balanced) wheel/tyre combination I have no idea.

Most peeps seem to get it at 85 / 90 mph.