My Exige S - weight saving project

is due first week in March …

and I am researching the best options for optimising its performance.

Putting aside the usual jokes about S2 weight on here I am speaking to Lotus Motorsport this week about adding the front section of the cage to my order so that will add more weight. With this in mind I thought I’d do some research into the options to reduce weight without stripping the car.

I am new to Lotus and am reading through the various suppliers, forums etc. about different options and so far I am considering…

EXHAUST
Is it generally excepted that the std. Exige S exhaust can be improved upon? I am looking for weight reduction and performance gains. I would prefer not to increase the noise levels too much as I don’t want to have problems at trackdays.

WHEELS
The std. wheels are marketed as light weight, but I don’t have any data on these so can’t judge against the aftermarket wheels available. Does anyone have any suggestions on lighter than std. wheels?

BODYWORK
I am going to change the rear spoiler and intake pods for carbon fibre replacements.

I also plan to replace the roof insert for a carbon fibre version. I haven’t found one available yet. Does anyone know of a source?

If I can’t source one I will get one made up. Does anyone know if I would be able to purchase an additional insert with the full roof scoop to send to my manufacturer as a template for a CF version.

I plan to upgrade the brakes later in the year. What is the weight differences in the std. brake system vs. the AP setup, positive or negative weight ‘gains’?

Are there any other suggestions?

Damon

congratulations on your purchase and welcome to the fold. I was going to question the cage especially as you brought up the weight issue - do you know exactly how much it will add? - but then if I was in your shoes I’d probably want it also if only for more of that “racecar” feel.