Emmison test

I have just taken an emmision test on an upg egige 2000mod without CAT…

800 rpm
CO - 1,197%
CO2 - 7,16%
HC - 1202 ppm
O2 - 10,02 %
Lambda 1,506

Does this looks normal when u dont have the CAT fitted???.. The guy who made the test said smt like it could look like the engine is not burning the fuel proparbly… ???

Im a bit worried abou the hig HC… Is it correct it should been around 200-300 ppm even if u have cat fitted or not…And the lambda is a calculated nummber, and this could mean its to much oxygen in the mixture??? or what???.. Just got this information in generally disccusion about cars, And since im really close to buy this car, it would been nice to sort this probl out:)

I’m no expert, but it would appear your idle speed is to low, it should be between 1150 and 1350rpm for a normal idle test. At this speed you should have a max CO reading of 0.5%. I’m not sure but I think that if you had a cat fitted it would reduce your C0 reading by 1%, giving 0.197% which is OK, the HC for this speed should no more than 200 ppm. The next test would be to carry out a fast idle check, this should be done at 2500 to 3000rpm where you should get the following results
Min Lamba 0.95
HC Max 200
CO max 0.3
Max Lamba 1.09

My advice would be to get them to refit the cat and do the emissions test again at the correct speeed.
Hope this helps.

Dave

Uff im a bit confusied about the HC… ??
As I said I been told the HC dosent change that much if u got a CAT or not… But after searching a bit more here… im not sure anymore… Maybe all my values was OK?? Uff ufff… I dont know

hmmm… maybe ure right… tnks 4 information:) I was also thining about the rpm… And yes I will fit a CAT and do the test over again… hopefully on monday

But how is it with the idle speed… is this the same rpm for every brand of car. or?? its just a bit weird we do the test differently in nrw and GB

niceguy