Weird sound from my engine?

Hi… I got the rover 190 version Exige. And the engine was rebuilt 1 year ago (1000km)…various bits and pices was replaced with new .including the crankshaft + various bearings…

I got a weird sound from my car… It sound smt like trrr.trrll … Not to loud but I can hear it from now and then… (Been like this since I got it…7 weeks) I havent figure out any pattern yet…cold/warm /rev…and so on…due to the fuc*- weather… Im no expert…so I dont know what it could be…And its really hard to explain…Maybe its normall??? But for time beeing im a bit scared to push my car due to this sound… …

Just a crazy idea… Could it be the “Big end bearing” (not sure if this is the proper name… but I mean the bearing from the crankshaft to the pistons…)

Any help is appreciated…

It’s going to be difficult to diagnose the problem with that description.
Are you sure the sound is coming from the engine?
Could it be something as simple as the undertray buzzing? This is a common problem and easily rectified.

I know its difficult … But Ill try to record the sound…so u can listen to it… Just need a bit better weather first

Better yet, take it to your trusty dealer, I’m sure an expert ear would be better at diagnosing that listening to a digitized file…

big end would be quite loud, always there and rise with revs. from what you’ve said it doesnt sound like big ends.

Drew

Sounds more like one of those ‘bits rubbing against bits’ problems…

They tend to be related to the direction the engine is being thrown by the dynamics of the moment, i.e cornering braking or accelerating, and of course the degree of uphill or downhill slope, camber and also the bumpiness of the road…