VVC engine tuning.

I see very little serious tuning done on VVC engines (I mean with the VVC mechanism intact). Could anyone explain to me what the problem(s) is/are when you want to get it over say 200bhp?

I am no expert, but researched this for my VVC engine. The answer is fairly complex but involves several key aspects.

1. The VVC mechanism and cams etc provide a good balance between torque and power across the rev range. They are not designed for very high peak power - they provide neither the valve lift or duration of some of the “hotter” cams that are available.

2. The pistons (S2 VVC), although better than the std pistons are not really designed to cope with either very high rpm (7300 - 7500 about maximum safely) or power much over 180 bhp.

The std inlet plenum won’t get you much over 180 bhp.

To get really high power out of a 1.8 (say >200 bhp), you will probably need cams that provide adequate duration and lift, possibly solid lifters rather than hydraulic tappets (although hydraulic still possibly OK at 200 bhp I would think) direct to head throttle bodies and a rev limit well above the 7200 odd of the VVC. That in turn requires a strong enough bottom end - forged pistons, decent rods etc.

175-180 is possible on a std VVC bottom end, std plenum, std ECU, with a decent port some fettling of the exhaust cam and retaining the VVC mechanism. Beyond this requires a lot more effort and money.

Thanks for your reply Shangani. Still, almost all the reasons you give apply to a non-vvc as well and the conversion to solid lifters shouldn’t be too expensive either, right? Can’t see that being a requirement for the VVC system to work?

I could think of some others reasons though:

1 Less demand, since the base engine already produces more power than a standard K
2 VVC advantages of better low down torque, less emissions and fuel use are perhaps not as important for people looking for a highly tuned K
3 6kg (right?) weight penalty pretty high up in the car.