Transmission Questions

Howdy,I finally am making a decision on a transmission upgrade and have a few questions:1. Is there any difference between the Lotus UCR gearset and the Quaife gearset?2. For you guys that have gone beyond 190hp, have you needed the ATB differential?3. Does anyone know where I can source all the required trans tools cheap?? [image]http://www.lotussource.com/lspics/transtools.jpg[/image] Thanks in advance!!Roy

Roy,In answer to 2., I have thought about an LSD, but I do not really think it needs it, but I am no expert! I have also read somewhere that Lotus felt that it upset the balance of the car…

You will only be able to get the straightcut gearset from Quaife, which makes it noisy - although I guess this is not really an issues as the car is track only. The ratios are the same, although I think you will need to choose which final drive you want - I think Quaife have a speed calculator on their website. I have the 3.923 final drive which gives a speed of just under 60mph in 1st at 8000 revs i think. This means it is not that great for standing starts, but is just about useable on the tightest of hairpins. I haven’t driven a car with an LSD so can’t comment on that!Cheers

Roy,Steve Butts has an LSD with CR box fitted on his 225BHP Elise, he his coming round later tonight so i’ll get him to post his thoughts for you.Churchill Tools do not exist anymore so quoting there tool numbers generally produces blank looks, can’t buy them from Rover either or at least when i last tried i coundn’t !Not sure when you can get them from unless there are generic tools available that will do the job.Phil

oi Phil, send Steve my greetings, will ya…later,Bruno