Please help!!

Firts of all I want to say “Hi!” to all of you, because I am new to the Elise as well as the forum!Just bought a MkI Elise 111S today, and the problems started imediately! Whilest standing at the traffic lights for quite some time the water tempearture reached 107 degrees celsius before the fan started. Didnt think anything bad, but while on the journey home (easy cruising at around 130kph) the fan didnt switch off any more, even when the temperature went down below 90 degeress celsius. When I wanted to switch off the engine, it ran for about 5 seconds after the ignition was turned off!! Tried it again some more, out of 4 tries the engine ran 2 times for about 5-6 seconds after ignition was turned off.Anyone had the same problems, any help you can give me?Car is built 1999 and has 20.000kms on the clock.

That sounds very hot! A standard Exige rarely gets over 90 degrees, even when sitting in traffic.

Just came back from a spin, cooling system and running temperatures seem allright, has to be the hot day and traffic jam which made it run so hot. I also discovered the engine turn off problem: I cant switch off the engine, when the lights are on! If I switch off the lights (with ingnition off), the engine stalls. Is this normal with the MkI 111S?

Hi drifter,engine should not stall when the lights are switched off and running temp should be about 86C, have a very good look around your car for poor earth connections, check the earth strap from the engine to the chassis, even if it looks ok, replacing it. The strap is at the end of the gearbox and bolts to the chassis.I would imagine the ignition circuit is finding its own earth path somewhere and thus carries on running when you switch it off at the ignition switch and turning the lights off is breaking the path it has found and then stalls the engine…if it’s not your earthing then carry on looking at the rest of the wiring for bad relays etc…hthPhil