Oil change intervals on track day cars.

I have read lots of theories on how often oil changes should take place on track day cars, ranging from every track day to just follow the normal service schedule. Does anyone have any engineering knowledge of the correct intervals rather than just pet theories?

I have little knowledge of what “wears” oil but I expect total engine revolutions of the engine has a big effect. I believe total engine revs and the number of starts are the big influences on the service lights on many cars. Given that, it is probably safe to assume the average rpm on track is twice that on the road, halving the mileage duration. Soak back temperatures may have an effect? I cannot see that operating temp would have an effect, it would be within normal range. At higher rpm the engine may often be beyond maximum torque, which would be good for the long chain molecules in the oil.

Contamination will be a function of total engine revolutions so fits with my “halving” guess.

Does anyone have a better theory?

I don’t have any formal engineering knowledge, but I have built and run a fair few track cars in my time.

I think oil is a lot better than people give it credit for, heat, revs and contaminants age it from what I have read and been told, and that sounds right to me. So the way I looked at it, is oil is cheaper than engines. I was always pretty hard on my track cars, the engines saw a lot of revs, for a fairly long time. Oil temps would always be 120 ish by the time i finished, which I know isn’t excessive, but in my mind, it was enough.

I would change the oil and filter on my track day cars probably every third track day. I would change the gearbox oil at that interval too. The gearbox oil in Toyota cars gets really hot with track use.

Just my 2p, hope it helps.

Totally agree Sean
But I’m more excessive, Engine oil every other trackday, with my average being about 175 miles per day so every 300-350 miles