Newbie Track Day Advice

I am due to collect an “S” next week and intend to use it for the odd track day as well as for my daily drive.

Problem is, I have no track experience with cars other than a few wet laps of the 'Ring in my A3 TDi (which BTW beat Clarksons effort by 2 secs on 3rd attempt - ha!).

What would you guys recommend as an easy way in for a novice? I don’t want to be having it out/getting in the way of wannabee F1 test drivers and would appreciate some form of tuition/pointers being available during the session, without paying �500+ for an advanced driver training course until I know I am “in to it”.

Also, my car has the T45 roll bar and harness rail, so I will probably will fit a pair of 4 point belts before getting started, but will I need to consider anything else initially?

Welcome

Easy to summarise my advice :

• Get yourself on a Walshy Day see the Car Limits Website. If you are new to lightweight rwd cars he is a must IMO.

• Join Lotus on Track and go along to one of their novice days or a trackday at Bedford. You are very unlikely to feel intimiated by more experienced drivers on such a day.

Congrats on your purchase and for planning trackdays before you even pick it up

Thanks Benja, I will look into both of those.

Part of the reason I dropped my 911 for the S2 is because I was too “precious” with the car and couldn’t bring myself to hurl it around a track - the Lotus seems so much more right for the job without all the gizmo’s and gadgets etc - so this one is definately going to get some!

Welcome,

I have tracked my S twice since picking it up in October. 1st time with MSV at Snetterton on one of their novice days which are limited to a maximum of 25 cars and secondly with Lotus on Track at Rockingham. On both occasions I took lessons which although frantic at the time, are well worth the money. One thing that I can confirm is the safe feeling you get when driving on a LOT event as driving etiquette is paramount.