Hopeful switch - Impreza Type R to S1

Hi all,

Newbie here and on the lookout for an S1 Exige.

Was recommended to visit here after meeting an S1 (with K20 supercharged) owner at a Porsche meet near the Olympic Park at the weekend.

After 14 years of owning an Impreza Type R, feel the need for a change.

Impreza is a 2.35 with around 470/475 bhp/lb ft and setup for track with just about everything done from transmission to brakes and suspension/chassis upgrades. Will be a very different drive but excited for a new chapter and getting to know a new car.

Looking forward to getting an S1 on track and hopefully meeting some others soon.

Some obligatory shots of the Subaru below. Have agreed a price for it, just waiting for the buyer to sell his car and transfer me the money then will be on the search. Will keep you posted how it goes.

Best
Ross

Love those wheels! Hope you find the right S1.

Welcome - look forward to hearing more re your buying journey and car when you find what your looking for :+1:

Welcome Ross, good luck with the search.

Any Q’s just ask on here, lots of knowledgable folk on Exiges.

Welcome.

I switched from Impreza to Lotus a few years ago. For trackdaying it’s a no brainer, will never look back.

I do miss that burble on a cold morning though :sunglasses:

Thank you for the warm welcome.

I do have one, probably silly question :

Some s1 I have seen have ‘Elise’ written on the spark plug cover whilst others have ‘Exige’. Any reason why?

Not a silly question, just very “Lotus”, I think I’m right in saying the Exige cam cover plate was an optional extra, the one with the Elise script is just the default from factory. I’ve had 3 S1 Exige and only one has had the exige script.

Or it’s a converted Elise :smile:

:open_mouth: :laughing:

:laughing:

Thanks for the replies… will make sure to check the numbers etc. Love how the idiosyncrasies are a ‘Lotus’ thing.