Floor pan corrosion!!

Just a quick one, please can someone give me the latest on the corrosion problems with the driver and passenger footwells? Is it an official Lotus warranty recall, or do you have to pay for it to be rectified? Many thanks. JEZ

It is FOC, I did not get an official recall, but asked and B&C did it last time it was there…

I’m sure dealers do it if there’s not a visual problem though. They have to send a picture off before being given the go ahead.

Ian

Hi Huskydog - I put everything from a cpouple of my posts into this thread to save you jumping about - hope it helps…

Hi All - I’m a newbie ‘graduating’ from a S1 111s to Chrome Orange S1 Exige at the weekend. My Elise had really bad corrosion under the rubber mats. It had high mileage (45k) as the previous owner used it every day. I had to have the new floor panels fitted (stuck over the damaged ones not replaced)and the new carpets fitted on top (looks like any new Elise floor with the anodised ally securing screws. If you are in any doubt or you still have the sweaty original rubber mats get it into your nearest dealer now b4 it gets worse!!! JCT600 Leeds did mine and I have no complaints (and I’m a pedantic barstool at the best of times) - hope this helps the doubters. Some words of caution. Dont try and remove the mats to clean it yourself. Lotus need to see the photos to authorise the repair. I did but had the sense (incredible for me) to take some piccies before cleaning it. It was pitted but not perforated. As far as I am aware if your car has the old stuck down mats you will get them replaced foc under warranty - good look.
This could be what is lurking underneath - you have been warned!!!Elise Floor Corrosion Piccies

http://www.exiges.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=21076&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=10&vc=1