Exige S1 #059

Hi Everyone,

I thought I would introduce myself and my new Exige S1 VHPD, number 059 in Phantom black.

I had previously owned a calypso red S1 elise MMC 1996, and although it was a nice car it was a bit too soft for me and the red wasn’t really to my taste so after a couple of years I decided to sell knowing I would come back again in a few years with a Sport 160 or just maybe an Exige if I could stretch to it.
It had to be an S1 of some description that was for sure, since I was an apprentice at Lotus during the time that the S1 was manufactured that was the car I longed for.
Having kept an eye on Exige prices over the years, they have just gone one way and really peaked a couple of years ago, I had always kicked myself for not buying sooner as they became out of my reach. In the last year I have seen a couple of more sensibly priced ones and decided that now was the time to take the plunge.

After putting up a wanted thread for an S1 on here and another forum, I was contacted by a guy 2 days later who had just put his S1 for sale.
He put his ad live on Sunday morning but I hadn’t seen his message until the evening, which was a shame as I could have gone to see it during the day. He gave me his contact number and I called him Monday morning and drove the 3 hrs after work to view it. It was dark when I got to him so not ideal but I was armed with a couple of torches. I spent along time scrutinising it under torchlight while we chatted. The led torches really to pinpoint every chip and blemish but overall I could see that it was a good honest car which is much more important to me than something that has been tarted up for a sale.
He started the car and left it burbling away to warm up. Then we jumped in for a test drive with myself as the passenger.