changing to hall effect sensor for speedo???

Topics relating to the series 1 Exige
User avatar
s-express
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 2 times
Contact:

changing to hall effect sensor for speedo???

Post by s-express » Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:05 am

Currently fitting TC control to my exige (through a DTA S80 pro ecu) for which I need to attach hall sensors to all hubs.
I am wondering whether I can ditch the speedo pickup sensor (2 wire) and feed the stack speedo a 5Vdc signal pulse from the new hall effect sensor?
I presume that the AC(?) wave that comes from the original sensor is converted to digital signal at the speedo? If so, then in theory I can bypass the A2D converter and feed the speedo with the 5Vdc pulse????
Has anyone done this? It's just there is very little room to attach 2 sensors to one rear hub!!!

Thanks
S1 Exige 036 Audi powered

winthattt
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: Sunny Derbyshire
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: changing to hall effect sensor for speedo???

Post by winthattt » Tue Jul 02, 2019 3:51 pm

I would not try. Long time since I did any electronics and I am not sure how the Stack is arranged inside but... you will have to bypass the signal conditioning and protection and the A2D will be sitting on the bus from the micro to be read when it is addressed. It's not as if the A2D converts the A to a digital level. It's addressed. You also can't be sure where the threshold are. It is also most likely that the A2D is included in the micro. I know Lotus stuff can be old tech but Stack are/where up to date. 2 sensors must be the easiest way to go, even with restricted space.

Traction control on an S1 Exige, whatever next!

User avatar
thommo
Posts: 4155
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Lancs
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: changing to hall effect sensor for speedo???

Post by thommo » Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:55 pm

Eh? Technology? Lost on me but good luck with your efforts . . .

Post Reply