Stalled at idle

Topics relating to the Lotus Exige S2 (series 2)
User avatar
moomin
Reactions:
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:02 pm

bb/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19881 , keep reading, its an easy fix . ;)
User avatar
N17VES
Reactions:
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 5:48 pm
Location: Yorkshire

Im pretty sure it is the mapping... It was one of the first (may even be the first in the UK) cars to be running 300bhp back in the 2008/9.

The positive side to this is the map has proven to be reliable, but I think the mapping back then was just case of taking a 260 map and coding it to dump more fuel into it. At a guess I would say its over fuelling at idle (might be worth sticking a AFR gauge on it).
User avatar
moomin
Reactions:
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:02 pm

My car is also mapped with the CharlieX/Gotham/Essex Autosport map , i had exactly the same engine idle problems , after chasing the fault round the car replacing expensive sensors and taking the car back to EA twice with no joy or explanation i decided to clean the TB with the BG TB cleaner , it was an instant fix and i have had no issues since.
Just make sure you use a quality TB cleaner like BG that won't damage the special coating inside the TB .
seriouslylotus
Reactions:
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

ade wrote:option 3 will bring a new world of pain, I was talking to a local guy who is looking to buy my old carbon parts, he was telling me his woes and wishes he never put on the syvecs, as good as it is for peak power etc, the poor starting when warm or cold drives him mad, he has taken it back so many times and it is getting better, but not right.

I used to clean the filter on mine all the time, that seemed to stop it most of the time, I know Lee who bought my car emptied a can of carb cleaner into the throttle body and now it is behaving very well. maybe PM him nitro on here.
He needs it mapped properly then!
Mine was faultless hot or cold all the time.
ade
Reactions:
Posts: 7323
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:40 am
Location: Essex

@Dave

No idea why his seems to be so bad
ade
Reactions:
Posts: 7323
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:40 am
Location: Essex

N17VES wrote:Im pretty sure it is the mapping... It was one of the first (may even be the first in the UK) cars to be running 300bhp back in the 2008/9.

The positive side to this is the map has proven to be reliable, but I think the mapping back then was just case of taking a 260 map and coding it to dump more fuel into it. At a guess I would say its over fuelling at idle (might be worth sticking a AFR gauge on it).
Mine was the first UK 300hp car, it was never a 260hp map added to, the ECU on my old car is still the same ECU it came with and never has it had a 260hp Lotus map put on it.
Mine had about 2 days of dyno time working on the full throttle elements each time an upgrade was done, those were the base maps then used by EA for all the other cars.
I talked at length with the tuner and the value adjustments done to work with the bigger injectors were across the board on the underlying map, the cars have 2 maps, closed loop and open loop, one is full throttle and is fixed and the other is the general day to day part throttle. I can never remember which way round they are :oops:

However just about all the work was done to get a consistent safe full throttle map, next to no changes are made to the part throttle map and it it an underlying Lotus map issue, mine even did it as a standard 220hp car with no mods, I was told by the dealer TADTS
Neil A
Reactions:
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:13 am

moomin wrote:My car is also mapped with the CharlieX/Gotham/Essex Autosport map , i had exactly the same engine idle problems , after chasing the fault round the car replacing expensive sensors and taking the car back to EA twice with no joy or explanation i decided to clean the TB with the BG TB cleaner , it was an instant fix and i have had no issues since.
Just make sure you use a quality TB cleaner like BG that won't damage the special coating inside the TB .
Thnks Moomin I've ordered some BG cleaner so will give that a try , when changing the filter i did check the body and the throttle plate was actually very clean already.
User avatar
moomin
Reactions:
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:02 pm

Neil A wrote:
moomin wrote:My car is also mapped with the CharlieX/Gotham/Essex Autosport map , i had exactly the same engine idle problems , after chasing the fault round the car replacing expensive sensors and taking the car back to EA twice with no joy or explanation i decided to clean the TB with the BG TB cleaner , it was an instant fix and i have had no issues since.
Just make sure you use a quality TB cleaner like BG that won't damage the special coating inside the TB .
Thnks Moomin I've ordered some BG cleaner so will give that a try , when changing the filter i did check the body and the throttle plate was actually very clean already.
Fingers crossed it works , the way I used it is on the other thread but its pretty much how it says to use it on the tin .
User avatar
moomin
Reactions:
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:02 pm

Did it work ?
Neil A
Reactions:
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:13 am

It has helped and to be honest probably now no worse than any other one, going buy the reports of standard cars also occasionally stalling.
Post Reply