Electronics guru needed

Keep in touch with fellow enthusiasts.
lotuslee
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:58 pm

Hi Dave yes it does, rev counter first to about half way then speedo to half way.
Like i say everything else works perfect includding abs light not illuminated
lotuslee
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:58 pm

Well i plugged the TC switch in and yes its no better 😪😪
The fact the ABS light is off would sudgest the speed sensor is working.
Any hints on what to check next ? ABS controller ? ECU? Stack unit ?
User avatar
andybond
Site Admin
Posts: 1491
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:16 am
Contact:

Go backwards - not literally.

Can you set everything back up how it was last working?
lotuslee
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:58 pm

No not really i think i need a can of petrol though
User avatar
thommo
Posts: 4715
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Lancs

lotuslee wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 9:09 pm No not really i think i need a can of petrol though
:lol:
User avatar
series_one
Posts: 618
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: saving Again!

Call a dealer or specialist. There was a reset process that involved the door opened (really) and turning the key to pos I or II and pressing the milage reset button or something similar. That reset the ecu settings AFAIR.
ade
Posts: 7399
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:40 am
Location: Essex

have you tried to disconnect the battery for 24 hours to allow everything to reset if it can
lotuslee
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:58 pm

Thankyou to all the help and advice, i have finally found the issue after a few nights of checking and tracing wires.
It turned out the fuse box, fuse holder had corroded up so only 11.6 Volts getting to the ABS unit. Once replaced the terminals all is now well.
Thanks again no can of petrol needed.
User avatar
andybond
Site Admin
Posts: 1491
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:16 am
Contact:

I was about to make an essential trip to the North West with a can of petrol and matches as well.

Glad its sorted Lee!
User avatar
Fonzey
Posts: 1132
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:17 am

lotuslee wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 10:13 pm Thankyou to all the help and advice, i have finally found the issue after a few nights of checking and tracing wires.
It turned out the fuse box, fuse holder had corroded up so only 11.6 Volts getting to the ABS unit. Once replaced the terminals all is now well.
Thanks again no can of petrol needed.
Great work, annoying issue but no harm done in the end. Result :thumbup:

It's funny how taking a car apart and rebuilding can uncover these types of issue.
Post Reply